Database of Labels and Messages management

Messages Editor is a Freeware (free of charge) of Messages and Labels database management tool, primarily to manage text-based content and their translation of the BLQ-software, but also features open to different message formats: TXT, CSV, INI, HTML, XSLT,...

Internal Labels and Messages of Software

The concept of database of Labels and Messages is linked to one file. That is, a basis corresponds to a single file on the hard disk of the Windows workstation. A database, so a file, must be accessible via Windows Explorer, to allow an opening from software. Once the database is open, a screen displays its contents.

A database of Labels and Messages is simply an XML file. It is therefore not a binary format not available without the software. Within the XML file, the tags correspond to a precise and organization specific to the interpretation of the software. Direct change of the tags is possible, but improper handling can make inoperative the use of the XML file by the Messages Editor. The XML file is directly accessible to the consultation via Internet Explorer or any other ASCII editor.

Why a database of Labels and Messages?

Apart from the user manual, software includes several texts, such as buttons, drop-down menus and information messages. These texts can be inserted directly in the software, but implies only one version, therefore, a priori, the use of a single language.

A database of messages is used to outsource the software, any portion of the texts used by the software. So, if the texts are no longer in the executable software, they are easy to adapt. The first adaptation is the ability to translate them independaments of the software creation (compilation).


Main screen
Main software screen allows to create, open and close Labels and Messages Database. Statistics overview is displayed on it.

Operation

The Organization of the database consists of 3 groups corresponding to a classification of the labels and Messages in software:

  1. Generic Groupe Global: the global messages of the software without specific association.
  2. Window Groupe Ecran: messages are necessarily associated with a graphic display (window) of the software, organized in Messages the display Labels in global (menu, button, etc.) and Tips (displayed information from the mouse pointer) on the screen graphics objects.
  3. Class Grroupe Class: global messages associated with a specific category related to a functional treatment of software.

Each set of these 3 groups is associated with a language (country). If any part of the contents of the Labels and Messages is reusable by multiple software, each software has its own database of messages.

Language editor screen
Languages edition screen is design with few tabs. First one gives global description and statistics.

Beyond the BLQ-software

Messages Editor conducted in a management objective and editing of messages for the software of BLQ-software, but its functioning and its organizational capabilities database gives it a use beyond the BLQ-software catalog. Indeed, Messages Editor offers many functional import and export, as well as links to automated translation with Web services WordReference (Word-for-word translation), and Bing translation (translation of phrase). The Microsoft Bing service involves an inscription and its use is free for a certain number of characters per month.



Top

Gestion de Bases de Labels et de Messages

Messages Editor est un outil Freeware (Gratuiciel) de gestion de bases de Messages et de Labels, principalement pour gérer les contenus textuels et leur traduction des logiciels BLQ-Software, mais propose aussi des fonctions ouvertes à différents formats de messages : TXT, CSV, INI, HTML, XSLT, ...

Base de Labels et Messages

La notion de Base de Données pour Labels et Messages est liée à celle d'un fichier. C'est-à-dire qu'une Base correspond à un fichier unique présent sur le disque dur du poste Windows. Une Base, donc un Fichier, doit être accessible via l'explorateur Windows, pour permettre une ouverture depuis le logiciel. Une fois la Base ouverte, un écran affiche son contenu.

Une Base de Labels et Messages est tout simplement un fichier XML. Il ne s'agit donc pas d'un format binaire non acessible sans le logiciel. L'organisation des Tags/Balises au sein du fichier XML correspond à une organisation précise et propre à l'interprétation du logiciel. Un changement direct des balises est possible, mais une mauvaise manipulation peut rendre inopérent l'utilisation du fichier XML par le logiciel Messages Editor. Le fichier XML est directement accessible à la consultation via Internet Explorer ou tout autre éditeur ASCII.

Pourquoi une Base de Labels et Messages ?

En dehors du manuel utilisateur, un logiciel comporte de nombreux textes, tels que ceux des boutons, des menus déroulants et des messages d'information et de confirmation. Ces textes peuvent être insérés directement dans le logiciel, mais implique une seule version, donc, a priori, l'utilisation d'une seule langue.

Une base de messages sert à externaliser du logiciel, tout ou partie des textes employés par le logiciel. Du coup, si les textes ne sont plus dans l'exécutable du logiciel, ils sont aisés à adapter. La première adaptation est la possibilité des les traduire indépendaments de la création (compilation) du logiciel.


Ecran Principal

Fonctionnement Général

L'organisation de la Base est constituée de 3 groupes correspondant à une classification des labels et Messages dans un Logiciel :

  1. Générique Groupe Global : les messages globaux du logiciel sans association particulière.
  2. Ecran Groupe Ecran : les messages sont associés nécessairement à un écran graphique (fenêtre) du logiciel, organisés en Messages Globaux de l'écran, en Labels (menu, bouton, etc.) et en Tips (information affichée depuis le pointeur de la souris) sur les Objets graphiques de l'écran.
  3. Classe Grroupe Class : les messages globaux associées à une catégorie précise liée à un traitement fonctionnel du logiciel BLQ Software.

Chaque ensemble de ces 3 groupes est associé à une langue (pays). Si une partie du contenu des Labels et Messages est réutilisable par plusieurs logiciels BLQ Software, chaque logiciel possède sa propre base de messages

Au-delà des logiciels BLQ-Software

Messages Editor a été réalisé dans un objectif de gestion et d'édition des bases de messages pour les logiciels BLQ Software, mais son fonctionnement et ses capacités d'organisation lui confère une utilisation au-delà des logiciels BLQ Software. En effet, Messages Editor propose de nombreux fonctionnels d'importation et d'exportation, ainsi que des liaisons de traduction automatique avec les Web services WordReference (traduction mot à mot) et Bing Traduction (traduction de phrase). Le service Microsoft Bing implique une inscription et son utilisation est gratuite à raison d'un certain nombre de caractères par mois.



Haut de page